The competition, founded in 2013, is a biennial event that aims to discover, support and promote artists who choose to express themselves through the medium of ceramics.


The panel of experts has selected a very heterogeneous shortlist. Its members include Glenn Adamson, curator, Garth Clark, editor-in-chief of Cfile, Annalisa Rosso, co-founder of Mr. Lawrence, Matt Wedel, artist, Elisa Ossino, architect and interior designer, Jill Singer and Monica Khemsurov, Editors-in-chief of Sight Unseen, Isabelle Naef Galuba, director of the Musée Ariana and Laura Borghi, founder of Officine Saffi. Installations, objects, sculptures and research projects will be exhibited together in an open display where the world of contemporary art will encounter the sphere of collectable design and high-end international craftsmanship.











Gunilla Maria Åkesson (1963, Sweden), Anton Alvarez (1980, Sweden)
, Eyvind Solli Andreassen (1986, Norway), Salvatore Arancio (1974, Italy), Francesco Ardini (1986, Italy), Audrey Ballacchino (1986, France), Chiara Camoni (1974, Italy), David Casini
 (1973, Italy), 
Rino Claessens (1994, The Netherlands)
, Phoebe Cummings (1981, UK), 
 Formabesta (1965-68, Spain), Jennifer Forsberg (1970, Sweden), 
Elly Glossop (1982, Scotland)
, Annelie Grimwade Olofsson (1991, Sweden), Michele Guido (1976, Italy), Jessica Harrison (1982, UK), Marianne Huotari (1986, Finland), Julia Huteau (1982, France), 
Qwist Joseph (1987, USA), Jonathan Keep (1958, UK), 
Maria Kristofersson (1956, Sweden), Jeongwon Lee (1985, South Korea)
, Virginia Leonard (1965, New Zealand), Claire Lindner (1982, France)
, Carlo Lorenzetti (1990, USA), Icaro Maiterena (1978, Spain), Ian McDonald (1975, USA), Domenico Mangano & Marieke Van Rooy (1974-76, IT-NL), Caterina Morigi (1991, Italy), Monika Patuszyńska (1973, Poland), Gregorio Peño Velasco (1983, Spain), Héloïse Piraud (1988, France), Andrea Sala (1976, Italy), Catherine Sanke (1990, Germany), Francesco Simeti (1968, Italy), John Souter (1989, USA), Akiko Taniguchi (1978, Japan), Tellurico (1985, Italy), Iren Tete (1990, USA), Liya Wan (1963, China).







The five artists selected for the special section FOCUS: DENMARK are Aya Simone Bækhøj Schmidt (1995), Marie Herwald Hermann (1979), Turi Pedersen (1965), Pernille Pontoppidan Pedersen (1987), Lone Skov Madsen (1964).




FOCUS: is a new section dedicated to a specific geographical area. Danish artists, in collaboration with the Danish Arts Foundation, are the protagonists of this first edition. The five artists selected by Officine Saffi, together with Ane Fabricius Christiansen (artist and member of the Danish Arts Foundation), will be in the running to win any of the prizes on offer, in addition to the special section prize: a solo show, accompanied by a catalogue, to take place during the course of 2022.






In conjunction with the Salone del Mobile (Milan Furniture Fair), all 45 finalists' works will be exhibited in September 2021 at Officine Saffi and in a new exhibition space in Piazza Virgilio. This venue is provided by Italia Fudosan Real Estate, a real estate company that seeks to promote and support artistic projects. This new space, a short walk from the Cadorna metro station, allows the artists on display to enjoy greater visibility and will transform the exhibition into a touring experience.






The winner of the competition, who will be awarded a cash prize of €10,000, will be selected by a jury of experts composed of:

Alessandro Rabottini, curator, artistic director In Between Art Film

Livia Peraldo Matton, editor-in-chief Elle Decor

Christian Larsen, curator, MAD Museum

Alvise Braga Illa, collector

Julian Stair,artist

Carolina Orsini, curator, MUDEC

Ane Fabricius Christiansen, artist and member of Danish Arts Foundation

Laura Borghi, founder Officine Saffi






In addition to the first prize of €10,000, there are numerous residency awards promoted by some of the most prestigious international centres dedicated to ceramics:

Sundaymorning@ekwc, NL

Guldagergaard, DK

Bruckner Foundation, CH

Museo della Ceramica di Mondovì, IT

Este Ceramiche, IT

International Ceramic Art Festival, Sasama, JP

Päivi Rintaniemi e Città di Seinäjoki, FI

Officine Saffi, IT



The final prize offered by the Officine Saffi Award is the Acquisition Award dedicated to young artists promoted by Four Arts. Four Arts seeks to foster the world of contemporary art and young artists' use of ceramics by purchasing a work by an artist under the age of 35.

Four Arts is a brand of Four Partners Advisory, an independent financial consultancy company, that oversees the convergence of all activities related to the world of the arts, whether for charity or aimed at promoting Italian cultural heritage.





The Officine Saffi Award would not be possible without the precious support: of:












Officine Saffi

via Aurelio Saffi, 7 - Milano


+39 02 36685696








powered by Artshell